Baseball Coaches Pick San Diego State to Win 2021 Mountain West Title

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colorado. San Diego State is set to win the 2021 Mountain West baseball title, as voted on by the league’s seven head coaches. The Aztecs received six first-place votes and 36 points overall, while Fresno State is seven points behind with 29 and the remaining first-place vote.

New Mexico and UNLV are tied for third place with 23 points. Nevada (16), Air Force (11) and San Jose State (9) round out the conference preseason standings.

This is the third straight year the Aztecs have won the Mountain West.

San Diego State, under seventh-year head coach Marc Martinez, returns 20 letter winners from a 2020 team that went 10-6 in a shortened season, including three wins over nationally ranked opponents. The Aztecs, winners of five of the last seven championships in the MW Tournament, are led by the 2021 MW Pre-Season Squad Selections Jaden Fein (So ​​RF), Troy Melton (So., RHP) and matt rudick (Jr., CF).

San Diego State’s three picks in all preseason conferences were tied for the most in the MW with Fresno State, which placed Ryan Higgins (Jr., INF/OF), Nikoh Mitchell (Sr., LHP) and Zach Presno (Sr., C) on the team.

Mountain West’s 2021 baseball season begins Friday, February 19 with all seven teams in action. Conference play, a 36-game schedule in a double round-robin format taking place over 14 weeks, will begin on Saturday, February 27. The regular season champion will be the Mountain West NCAA Tournament automatic qualifier.

The full expected finish order for the preseason and All-MW squad can be found below.



Comments are closed.